» Today: 30/03/2020
Australia's leading investor wants to develop renewable energy in Vietnam
At the meeting with Deputy Prime Minister Trinh Dinh Dung on March 25, Mr. John Walker - Chairman and CEO of Macquarie Capital Company (Australia) affirmed that he has studied very carefully and will soon invest in renewable energy projects in large scale in Vietnam.

Attending the meeting, there were Australian Ambassador in Vietnam, representatives of Ministry of Industry and Trade, VPCP.

Speaking at the meeting, Deputy Prime Minister Trinh Dinh Dung welcomed Macquarie Capital to have studied and evaluated the market methodically, laying the foundation for the development of investment projects in the field of renewable energy in Viet Nam.

According to Deputy Prime Minister, Vietnam-Australia Strategic Partnership is developing smoothly. In particular, trade and investment cooperation between the two countries has prospered.

Two-way trade turnover reached more than 7.7 billion USD in 2018, growing by 19.3%. In terms of investment, Australia currently has 425 projects with 1.84 billion USD, ranked 19th among foreign investors in Vietnam.

In which, Vietnam has 47 direct investment projects in Australia with a total value of about 256 million USD. Australia is also the largest provider of non-refundable ODA for Vietnam, reaching 92.7 million AUD per year.

In Vietnam, Macquarie Group is promoting to soon establish a representative office, quickly research and decide to invest in large-scale renewable energy projects, especially the production of offshore electricity wind and coastal electricity wind, solar energy as well as energy from wastes.

Follow Baochinhphu
© Copyright 2010, Information and Documentation Center under Can Tho Science and Technology Department
Address: 118/3 Tran Phu street, Cai Khe ward, Ninh Kieu district, Can Tho city Tel: 0710 3824031 - Fax: 0710 3812352 Email: tttlcantho@cantho.gov.vn License No. 200/GP-TTÐT dated November 11st, 2011 by Agency for Radio, Television and Electronic Information under Minister of Information and Communication